Let’s Make a Bet

I like sports. I’m from Canada, hockey is our national pastime. My idea of a good baby-free night would probably be dinner with the hubs then heading out to watch a game of our local junior team where we hold part-time season tickets. I’ve already mentioned that for my husband, hockey is a religion and that he’s a blogger for a large sports network. I’m not that into it.

While I’m not into scrutinizing over every single detail and statistic, I know a lot of people who are. Both my brother and brother-in-law are huge into sports betting. Truthfully my brother will drop a dollar to bet on anything but sports is defiantly his weakness.

While gambling in general is not my thing, especially since we’re currently living on such a tight budget, if anyone is doing it right it’s those two. They have appropriately budgeted it and make a hobby out of it. Between weekly ProLine tickets, fantasy leagues and the odd at-work wager they have allocated each dollar. They seem to know what they’re doing too since both have had huge success with sports betting.

Last Christmas while my brother-in-law was getting ready to fly home to the UK, funds were a little tight for he and my sister-in-law (flying across the Atlantic isn’t cheap!). He had actually decided to not buy his weekly ProLine for a few weeks to help off-set the additional costs. Knowing his past successes, a co-worker of his asked him to do his picks on a lotto ticket if he promised to split any winnings. He was sorry he made that promise.

The next morning they checked their ticket. They had won almost $1600, not bad for a ticket my brother-in-law didn’t even pay for. His co-worker was true to his word and split the winnings in half.

I don’t know how he does it, but my brother seems to win every fantasy league he enters. I’m convinced you could create a sport he’s never heard of and he would draft a winning team. I honestly think some people just have it. That thing that is required to make the smart calculated decisions when it comes to betting of all kinds.

Though my husband is a self confessed sports addict he isn’t a huge gambler. He’s had some successes with fantasy leagues but not much in terms of online lottery like ProLine.  He did have a big win a few years ago with a playoff football game that concluded with a down-to-the-wire play. His winnings were nothing like the $1600 ticket my brother-in-law won, maybe $200.


We all have interests and things that excite us, for them it’s sports betting and the way I see it, as long as it doesn’t become a problem all the power to them! Maybe I should fund some tickets and convince my brother or brother-in-law to pick some teams for me? This could be the answer to help me pay off my debt!

Do you play the lotto or bet on sports? Any huge successes?

How Much I Would Make As a Stay-At-Home Momma


I’ve made it no secret that I would love to be able to (mostly) stay at home to raise our daughter. I say mostly because I do enjoy my job, using my brain for something other than diagnosing random rashes and crave adult interaction, but at the end of the day being able to be the only care provider for your child is huge.  In a perfect (read: debt free) life, I work outside of home when I want so I can raise our daughter (and any other future children). Ideally I’d quit my full-time hygiene job and move to fill-in only or commit to no more than twice a week, but with our debt-load it ain’t happening.

In my day-dreaming process I decided to calculate how much I would make if being a stay-at-home mom was a paying job. I base these numbers based on my daily average spent on each task and an average of what each occupation would make per hour. So, how much would I make as a stay at home momma?

  • Housekeeper: 4.0 hours at $15.00/hr= $60.00/day. Between general tidying, putting toys away, laundry, after-meal clean-up I spend at least 4 hours a day ‘cleaning’. Some days is 1-2 hours, some days (weekends when hubby is home to help) we will spend an afternoon really cleaning the house.
  • Personal Chef: 3.0 hours at $12.00/hr= $36.00/day. I’m not looking to make executive chef wages here, I’ll take near minimum wage (which is just over $10/hr here). I prepare all meals for my family, breakfast and lunch is usually pretty quick, maybe an hour total but supper prep and cooking takes an average of 1.5 hours.
  • Personal Care Worker/Nurse: 10.0 hours at $25.00/hr= $250/day. Between diaper changes, spoon feeding, odd medication dosage, breastfeeding, rocking to sleep and bathing I spend at least ten hours a day doing this stuff.

Total gross income: $346.00/day x seven days a week (because momma’s don’t get days off!)= $2422.00/week with an average of 4.3 weeks in a month, my monthly gross income would be $10414.00. Even in the higher income tax bracket, I’d be netting over $4500.00/month. With this income from me, hubby’s regular income and our current bills as they are, I would not only be home with kiddo but we would be debt free (non-mortgage) in less than two years!

Since this is an entirely hypothetical situation and know it will never happen, it sure would be nice to be financially rewarded for everything we do! Having said all this, even though Parenthood is not financially rewarding, it is the BEST job in the world, just wish it paid, even a little 😉

Photo source: Evil Erin.